Simply Symi

The last few days have passed by without incident. I caught a local bus to Pedi. €2 each way. There was nothing there. Just one hotel and a taverna. No beach to speak of. Symi is so rocky and pebbly, this is really not a beach destination. There are no big hotels with swimming pools here either. Everything is built clinging to a cliff face. It’s small scale pensions and apartments only. I stayed an hour, had a quick cooling dip in the sea and caught the next bus back.

Symi harbour

The next day, I decided on a complete whim to book a round the island all day boat trip. I had last gone on one of these in Milos in 2019. It promised 5 ports of call for swimming, plus a BBQ lunch and wine thrown in. My fellow passengers were a mix of Greeks, Australians and Americans. A lady asked me if I was here with my family, I said ‘no, it’s just me’. Out of nowhere an American voice said: ” good for you! That’s the type of vacation I can get on board with! Cheers!” His name I found out was Mark. He came from Alabama and was in Symi with his husband Pete. Pete’s family owned a house on Symi and they were here with chums Chad and Bill from Texas. Mark had aqua blue painted toenails and I adored him immediately. I was scooped up, questioned about my life in general and treated like an honorary queen for the day. Never be scared to do these things alone, people are generally nice and will welcome you in to spend a little time with them.

Swimming stops with. Turkish gulet and goats!

We stopped at small bays where we either climbed into the sea via a ladder or just jumped overboard to swim. On a couple of beaches we had goats for company. We swam into sea caves where the water was such a vivid turquoise colour – truly amazing.

All at sea

Our lunch stop was at a nearby island. I was invited to join the ‘boys’ at their table under some trees. Claude from Paris had also joined our group, telling us all about his travels and Paris Pride. A BBQ was lit and we sat chatting under a tree drinking wine quite happily for a good hour. There was a small flock of inquisitive sheep living in the bay which appeared to belong to the boat owner. I was worried they might be lunch as they mingled quite happily among us with their bells clanging round their necks. The local cat was given a chicken breast to eat. He has one every day they visit I was told. Im happy to know the animals are looked after.

Local dinner quest

Lunch was delicious. BBQ chicken and fresh salads. More wine, more swimming and more chat about everything from gay rights, politics, travel, and the handsome Australian brothers on the next table!

We sailed onwards towards Symi town as our day came to an end. I ate fresh watermelon and drank the roughest Retsina as we rolled along on the waves. A perfect way to fill my day. I was starting to become startled at the sound of my own voice so I appreciated the interaction and kindness of strangers. It’s not been an easy trip this one. I’ve not always felt 100% about being alone this time. I have no idea why, but meeting these kind souls has put a spring in my step today. So glad I bit the bullet and just went for it.

I only have one day left now before I start my journey home. I shall hit the sunbeds and sea again tomorrow and treat myself to something nice to eat in the evening. I would recommend little Symi to anyone travelling alone. Once again I have felt very safe here. Never threatened, never anxious. A perfect recharge. Come here…I think you would like it.

Leave a comment