Back in Batsi

Another late night arrival in Andros. Michaelis and his taxi was waiting at Gavrio port having been sent by the delightful Maria from Villa Nefeli in Batsi. 10 minutes later Batsi fell into view. A noisy first night followed due to traffic noise (the apartment was right on a main highway) and an eerie green light bathing the room. This was due to the lit fire exit – solved the next day by placing my straw hat over it where it stayed for the duration.

The next morning I could see the bay and the view from the balcony. It was of the main St Philips church which dominates the town.

St Philips Batsi

Batsi had not changed much at all I am pleased to report. The town beach was maybe a little smarter in places – new sunbeds had been acquired, but other than that I recognised that homely feeling still existed for me. My first port of call? Kolona Beach of course. No charge for the sunbeds here and owner George greeted me like an old friend with a shot of something Greek and alcoholic. We downed our shots together and there I stayed for a week snorkelling. The fish there are amazing. I tried snorkelling in both Paros and Syros with nothing to see. Some parts of Kolona were honestly like being in an aquarium. Shoals of reef fish all around you. The shock of having my legs nibbled by fish will stay with me. They are very inquisitive lately!

Beautiful Kolona Beach

The trip to Batsi coincided with the funeral of HRH Queen Elizabeth II. A union jack on an apartment in the old town flew at half mast – owned by an ex pat I guess. On the Monday we watched the funeral in London on you tube on a laptop. The only time I ever felt a bit homesick.

Half mast

I have to say Batsi never disappoints for food. Some of the restaurants are wonderful. I mention here my old friends at both Stamatis and Mi Se Meli. Both worthy of your time and money if ever you should visit.

Mi Se Meli

On my last day I met a South African lady on the beach. She was alone so we struck up a conversation. She has travelled extensively in the Greek Islands and guards her favourite places fervently. She shared some of her lesser known island secrets with me for which I am forever grateful. I too will guard them here. She agreed that Batsi was indeed a special place that we will both always return to. I feel a little guilty that I chose to share it with you dear reader. Should I have kept this place all to myself? Please promise me it remains our secret of a while longer?

Beautiful Batsi

Last days are always difficult. More shots on the beach and hugs from George. Promises to keep telling anyone and everyone who will listen to me how great Kolona is. Follow them on Instagram @kolonabeach . If you go and Teddy the dog greets you at the top of the steps and guides you down, Have a cold beer for me !

I start to notice things I will miss. The view, the church bells and the sunsets. I am returning to autumn in the UK and a cost of living crisis. Another cost of living crisis also awaits me sooner than I think. I have to return to Mykonos for a night to catch my flight home….

Sunset over Batsi

The bells of St Philip

Mykonos awaits. A cocktail at Jackie 0, a nights sleep and a lunchtime airport check in. Done for another year. I hopped 4 islands in 3 weeks. 5 ferries and 6 different hotel rooms. Would I do it again? Of course I would. I travelled only with hand luggage and did laundry as I went. It’s doable…but tiring. I am not as young as I used to be and I wish I had been able to do this in my teens and twenties. Still, while I am still able – I’ll be back!

Mykonos Chora

Leave a comment